Africa Young Women Beijing+25 Mobilization
This Feminist Manifesto sets out demands For Generation Equality Forums

The Africa Young Women’s Manifesto is a political document that sets out critical issues of concern for Africa Young Women and makes demands for addressing them. The Manifesto is the result of five Africa Young Women Beijing+25 Regional Barazas that convened over 1500 participants with the objectives of FEM

  • FOSTER intergenerational co-leadership and dialogues among young women,  African Union and United Nations Stakeholders
  • ENABLE young women in the different regions to share their initiatives and engagement at grassroots, national, regional and continental level
  • MOBILIZE for the African Young Women Manifesto with 10 practical demands

The Manifesto, therefore, provides a platform of a common set of demands for the achievement of gender equality and equity as well as Agenda 2063 and Agenda 2030. It allows Africa young women to articulate their concerns and secure a clear and unreserved commitment by the Generation Equality Forum and Action Coalitions Leadership, which blueprint will inform policies, institutional processes and intersectional action programmes and measures.

Africa’s young women are thereby empowered to use their voices to bring more youth into this movement. These demands will ensure that girls and young women are able to participate actively, equally and effectively with boys at all levels of social, educational, economic, political, cultural, civic life and leadership as well as scientific endeavours.

The process of developing and promoting the Manifesto also built upon the experiences of young women which ensures the manifesto is owned by a broad constituency.

Participants of the five regional consultations came from across 45 countries, namely Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Côte D’Ivoire, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eswatini, Egypt, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Ghana, Gambia, Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Morocco, Mauritania, Madagascar, Mauritius, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, South Africa, Sierra Leone, Senegal, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Togo, Uganda, Zimbabwe, and Zambia.

Endorse the Manifesto